How to delete network folder with thumbs.db file on Windows 10

On Windows 10, thumbs.db are hidden files created using thumbnail previews for folders in File Explorer. Although these files are harmless, sometimes they can cause problems. For example, if you moved content from a Windows 10 device to a network shared, and then you want to delete a folder, you may end up with a “The action can’t be completed because the file is open in Windows Explorer” message referring to the “thumbs.db” file that will prevent you from removing the folder.

If these “thumbs” database files are causing issues, you can delete them using File Explorer, Group Policy Editor, or the Registry to allow you to delete network folders.

This tutorial will teach you the steps to delete thumbs.db files to remove network folders using File Explorer on Windows 10.

Delete network folder with thumbs.db from File Explorer

To delete folders with thumbs.db file on Windows 10, use these steps:

  1. Open File Explorer on Windows 10.

  2. Browse to the folder to delete.

  3. Click the View tab.

  4. Check the Hidden items option.

  5. Under the “Layout” section, select the Details option.

  6. Select the thumbs.db file.

    Delete thumbs.db using Details view

  7. Click the Delete button from the “View” tab.

  8. Click the Yes button.

READ MORE  How to activate battery saver in Windows 10

Once you complete the steps, the thumbs.db file should be deleted without problems. However, if the steps don’t work, you can switch to another view and choose the Details view again.

Delete network folder with thumbs.db disabling preview cashing

If the thumbs.db refuses to be deleted. You can try disabling the thumbnail previews feature on Windows 10.

Disable thumbs.db from Group Policy

To disable thumbs.db caching for network folders on Windows 10, use these steps:

  1. Open Start.

  2. Search for gpedit and click the top result to open the Group Policy Editor.

  3. Click on User Configuration from the left pane.

  4. Browse the following path:

    User Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > File Explorer
  5. Double-click the “Turn off the caching of thumbnails in hidden thumbs.db files” policy.

    Turn off caching of thumbnails in hidden thumbs.db files

  6. Select the Enabled option to disable the feature.

    Disable thumbnail caching policy to delete thumbs.db files

  7. Click the Apply button.

  8. Click the OK button.

  9. Restart your computer.

After you complete the steps, you should now be able to delete network folders with thumbs.db files.

READ MORE  How to change drive volume label on Windows 10

Disable thumbs.db from Registry

To delete network shares with thumbs.db with the Registry, use these steps:

  1. Open Start.

  2. Search for regedit, right-click the top result, and select the Run as administrator option.

  3. Browse the following path:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwarePoliciesMicrosoftWindows
  4. Right-click the Windows folder, select the New submenu, and click on Key.

    Create Explorer Registry key

  5. Name the key Explorer and press Enter.

  6. Right-click the newly created key, select the New submenu, and click on the “DWORD (32-bit) Value” option.

    Registry create DisableThumbsDBOnNetworkFolders DWORD

  7. Name the DWORD DisableThumbsDBOnNetworkFolders and press Enter.

  8. Double-click the newly created DWORD and change its value from 0 to 1.

    Registry disable thumbnail caching policy to delete thumbs.db files

  9. Click the OK button.

  10. Restart your computer.

Once you complete the steps, the new configurations will apply, and you should now be able to delete thumbs.db files without the “The action can’t be completed because the file is open in Windows Explorer” message.

Here is why you should trust Winkeys.

We may earn commission for purchases using our links to help keep offering the free content. Privacy policy info.

READ MORE  How to export and import VPN connections on Windows 11

All content on this site is provided with no warranties, express or implied. Use any information at your own risk. Always backup of your device and files before making any changes. Privacy policy info.

      Select your currency
      WinKeys
      Logo
      Register New Account